My attempt at poetry

Here is a piece that I wrote last summer, shortly after being emotionally struck by the works of Shane Koyczan. I felt compelled to write something of my own, and the following example of amateur hour is my own bash at it. I do hope you can endure until the end!

I want you to take a look at yourself. I don’t mean go stand in a mirror or see your reflection as you stare through a window, I mean for you to look at who you are and see what makes you brush off the sorrow. Because when I look at you, I don’t see the shackles of society, I see a mind, a soul, a person with variety. I don’t care where you were born or where you choose to live, I care what you do with the forlorn hope passed down by those who jumped from a cliff.

I want you to take a look at yourself. Be reminded of those who fell before you and of those who are yet to do the same, because life isn’t something you get to skip through and it isn’t a contest of who can throw the most blame. Life isn’t about finding a problem and putting a band-aid on it, it’s about helping the fallen and raising their spirit.

I want you to take a look at yourself. Think of the times you felt lonely and weak, those moments of doubt when you needed to speak but no words came out. Now remember the times when you rose up and fought for what is true; you took a stand with your virtue in hand and you came out victorious.

I want you to take a look at yourself. Take a deep breath and hold it in, find the voice you seek within, release your safety pin and let yourself explode as the incandescent force of hope flows through your skin so you can shout from the mountaintops “You are all my kin”; because the biggest sin in this life you could ever commit, is letting the wrong team win.

I want you to take a look at yourself. I want you to tell me that the feelings that course through your veins onto pen and paper aren’t just another book on your shelf that you’ll look at later; rather I want you to tell me that when it comes to luck, you’re the creator, and that when it comes to life, you’ll never stop making it greater.

I want you to take a look at yourself. The life you live is one whose beginning you didn’t get to choose yourself, but whose legacy you shall determine nonetheless.

There we have it, I’d love to hear any criticisms you may have.

Leave a Reply

